The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) officially ratified

Author: Frederic Riviere

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) has been officially ratified by seven parties – Mexico, Japan, Singapore, New Zealand, Canada, Australia and Vietnam – and will enter into force on 30 Dec 2018. Companies will be able to benefit from substantially tariff-free export of goods to CPTPP markets, enjoy preferential market access to services sectors in CPTPP markets, and gain access to government procurement opportunities, just to name a few. 

"The CPTPP is an important agreement that will complement Singapore's existing network of bilateral free trade agreements. It will strengthen trade among countries in the Asia-Pacific, resulting in a more seamless flow of goods, services and investment. Against the current backdrop of trade tensions and anti-globalisation sentiments, the CPTPP sends a strong signal of our commitment to trade liberalisation and a rules-based trading system. The CPTPP is an open and inclusive Agreement and we welcome like-minded parties to join the CPTPP after it has entered into force."

- Minister Chan Chun Sing, Minister for Trade and Industry

Find out more about the CPTPP from the infographic below or contact for more information.

CPTPP infographic